FK Austria Wien wins 22. International “Dr. Nimmrichter Gedenkturnier”


The Austrians won a dramatic final versus Olympiacos Piräus in the penalty shoot-out, after the game finished goalless.

After last year’s difficulties due to heavy rainfalls the organizers had better luck this time and everything went according to schedule.

During the first day the teams from FC Augsburg, US Region I, Olympiacos Piräus as well as the Austrian giants Rapid Wien and Austria Wien lived up their status as favourites with some great performances, although all the other teams showed their great potential. The regional teams put in a great effort.

On the second day the last games of the group stage took place and led to the four following semi-finalists: Olympiacos Piräus, FC Augsburg, Austria Wien, Rapid Wien. The Greeks retained the upper hand over FC Augsburg and progressed to the final in their first participation. In the second semi-final Austria Wien were at the better end against their city-rivals from Rapid Wien.

After a very dramatic and fascinating 30 minutes the final was still goalless and the winner had to be defined in a penalty shoot-out in which the Austrians showed better nerves and won the title.
FC Augsburg won the game for 3rd place against Rapid Wien.


Best player: Amin Abdi (FK Austria Wien)

Best goalkeeper: Stefan Schenk (FC Ingolstadt)

Top Scorer:  Denizcan Cosgun (FC Red Bull Salzburg – 12 goals)


The final result, all games and details can be found under quick links.



copyright 2017 | all rights reserved