Report 2011

The winner of the 17th International Dr. Nimmrichter Gedenkturnier 2011 is again FK Austria Wien.

They won the cup in a dramatic final against Fortuna Sittard in a penalty shoot-out. At wonderful football weather and on perfect pitches the audience could observe spectacular performances of the young players, under the guidance of excellent referees, above all national league referee Harald Lechner.

FC Copenhagen showed the best performance during the group stages and was seen as the favorite to win the tournament in group A. Behind FC Copenhagen a three-way fight over the second place in the semifinal between FC Dukla Bankska Bystrica, SK Rapid Wien and the Sports Academy of Doha was predominant. Finally FK Dukla Banska Bystrica succeeded, thanks to the better goal difference. SK Rapid Wien and the Sports Academy of Doha ended the group stage on 3rd respectively 4th place.

In group B the Dutch club Fortuna Sittard was able to confirm its role as competition favorite. Behind Fortuna developed also a three-way competition between FK Austria, Admira and 1860 Munich. Thanks to a hands-down victory in the last group match Austria Wien reached the second place and therefore the semifinal.

The regional non-professional teams took some bigger teams by surprise and achieved memorable results. NSG Scheibbs surprised through a 1:0 victory versus 1860 Munich. The boys from the home team Leonhofen reached a draw versus the Sports Academy of Doha and rewarded themselves for their effort.

On Sunday at noon the traditional ceremony with the national anthems took place. It was followed by the two semifinals. The first duel took place between FC Kopenhagen and FK Austria Wien. In a technically highly demanding match the Danish cup winner could not retrieve the performance of the group stage and lost 0:1 versus Austria Wien. In the second semifinal, the audience saw an international duel on eye-level between Fortuna Sittard and Banska Bystrica. The Dutch team succeeded in the penalty shoot out and therefore eliminated the prejudice that Dutch teams are bad penalty shooters.

The classification matches were followed by the eagerly awaited final. In front of packed stands the two teams entered the pitch to the sound of „Hells Bells” together with the referee of the final, Harald Lechner.

The two finalists showed a fast and balanced game, which included everything a football match needs – apart from goals. This led to a penalty shoot out like in the previous edition of the Dr. Nimmrichter Gedenkturnier. FK Austria was in front from the first round on, but the fifth player missed and therefore the captain of Fortuna had the chance to equalise. As the Viennese goalkeeper was able to save, Austria Wien celebrated its third tournament victory.

As part of the award ceremony the best individualists were announced. This year’s top scorer was Manuel Rehberger from Lask Linz with 7 goals. The best goalkeeper came from FC Copenhagen, Jonas Elkjfer. The best player of the tournament was a midfielder from Fortuna Sittard, Giel Piereiji, who impressed the audience with his technical skills as well as his playing horizon.

copyright 2017 | all rights reserved