RB Salzburg wins in penalty shoot-out

Red Bull wins the tournament in an all-Austrian final against Admira Wacker.


After two days of exciting and high-level performances from all teams RB Salzburg were at the better end with a 2:1 victory against fellow Austrian side Admira Wacker.
Both teams secured their ticket for the final in thrilling semi-final encounters. RB Salzburg got the upper hand over Dinamo Zagreb with 2:0. The second semi-final went into penalties after a goalless draw, in which Admira won 5:4 against Austria Wien.


During the group-stages it became clear from the very beginning that it will be a very close run for the two semi-final places in each of the two groups. The good weather and perfect natural grass fields made it two great days for the players and the spectators. Even the regional teams put in great performances in these “once in their lifetime” games. The hosts FC Leonhofen gained a point in a 0:0 draw against German Bundesliga side FC Ingolstadt. After day one it was very close in both groups, and 8 teams still had the possibility to qualify for the semi-finals.


Sunday morning was then make or break time for the teams and finally Dinamo Zagreb as group winner and Admira Wacker secured the top spots in Group A. In Group B, the two Austrian Sides RB Salzburg and Admira Wacker were the superior teams and qualified for the big games in the afternoon.


After the presentation of the teams with the national anthems the final-stage was due to begin in front of many fans and visitors. After the two tickets for the final were awarded in the semis the classification matches took place, before the big final started. Salzburg took the early lead in a very even game. After RB doubled their lead they already had one hand on the trophy. However Admira Wacker pulled one back and made sure the fully crowded stand saw exciting closing minutes of the game. RB defended well and celebrated their deserved victory after the full time whistle.




Red Bull Salzurg
2. Admira Wacker
Dinamo Zagreb
4. Austria Wien
5. FC Augsburg
6. Rapid Wien
7. FC St. Pauli
8. LASK Linz
9. FC Ingolstandt
10. SV Petzenkirchen
11. SKN St. Pölten
12. FC Leonhofen
13. SV Oberndorf
SC Wieselburg

Best player: Tobias Kerschl (Admira Wacker)
Bester goalkeeper: Sandali Conde (Austria Wien)
Top scorer: Benjamin Kanuric (Red Bull Salzburg) – 9 Tore


copyright 2017 www.gedenkturnier-leonhofen.at | all rights reserved