Tournament report 2018

FC Augsburg won the final against RB Salzburg


The beautiful weather, two natural grass fields in perfect condition, a great number of spectators and fully motivated teams were the ingredients for 2 days of exciting and high-class youth football in which German Bundesliga side FC Augsburg won the final against the title holder Red Bull Salzburg after penalties.

Red Bull won their semi-final against Hungarian team MTK Budapest with 2:0 and was followed by FC Augsburg who held the upper hand against Austria Wien and won comfortably 3:0. From the early games on the two finalists emerged as favourites as both of them won their group and didn’t receive a goal.


Behind the two finalists there was a thrilling battle for second place in both groups to go to the semi-finals. After day one with 4 group games played and two more games looming on Sunday morning there were still 8 teams with a chance to book their place in the semi-finals. In group A tournament record winner Austria Wien (5 times) finished second, and in group B MTK Budapest went through.


After the official presentation of the teams with national anthems for every country played by the marching band the semi-finals and classification matches started. In the big final Red Bull Salzburg started very well and controlled the game, but didn’t find a solution to break down the good defensive organisation from Augsburg. The longer the game lasted the more balanced it got. It was a very equal, intense and exciting game, where just clear goal-scoring chances were missing. The logic outcome was that it went to penalty shout-out after goalless 30 minutes. After 5 penalty takers from each time, the scoring was 4:4, with both keepers saving one. The 6th penalty taker from Salzburg missed and the player from Augsburg didn’t hesitate to take the defining penalty with confidence and scored the winning goal to give FC Augsburg their second win after the edition of 2014.




Final result:

1. FC Augsburg

2. Red Bull Salzburg

3. MTK Budapest

4. FK Austria Wien

5. Hannover 96

6. Admira Wacker

7. SK Rapid Wien

8. Leicester City

9. FC Utrecht

10. SV Ried

11. SV Oberndorf

12. SC Wieselburg

13. FC Leonhofen

14. NSG Texingtal/Kirnberg

Best player: Luka Reischl (RB Salzburg)
Best keeper: Marcel Lubik (FC Augsburg)
Top scorer: Tobias Hochreiter (Austria Wien) – 17 goals


copyright 2017 | all rights reserved